Pyramid Peak

“Life shrinks or expands in proportion to one’s courage.”~ Anaïs Nin

Pyramid Peak

September 15, 2021

Total Gain: 4500+’

Total Distance: 8.25M (+out back to campsite @ Crater Lake=10.52M)

Class 4

After a dead car battery derailed me for several hours and forced me to miss my shuttle into the Maroon Bells-Snowmass Wilderness, I regrouped in Aspen and was back at it the next morning.

My camp was set up at Crater Lake and I was off for the summit of Pyramid Peak at 10:30am, extraordinarily late for me but the forecast was for bluebird skies and I wasn’t wasting a day like that.

It seemed like an easy enough hike until I hit the steep slope up & out of the Amphitheater. Others coming down reported slow going and upwards to 3 hours for the summit from there. Quick calculations indicated a after dark finish so I was grateful to have thrown my headlamp into my pack at the last minute.

From the saddle, it was all class 4 fun and tough navigation to the top. Lots of little ledges to walk, lots of exposure that offered phenomenal views.

On the summit, I met Jim and he asked if I could stay with him back to the saddle. This was his first class 4 and he was definitely in up to his head but he was cautious, non-panicky and SMART.

I waited for Jim at the saddle while being heavily monitored by a pair of mountain goats waiting for me to pee. I couldn’t hold it earlier. Before I could pull up my pants, I heard rocks crashing and turned around to see a goat already there enjoying the salt of my yellow.

Dusk chasing me the final 2 miles, I made it back to camp under the rising moon, pleasingly exhausted.

Click here for YouTube video of Pyramid Peak.

Published by

Sunkist

I am a former ultra runner and triathlete who has evolved into a long distance backpacker/thru-hiker. I love being in the sunny outdoors, especially in the quiet beauty of wilderness.

Leave a Reply